Jason Shinder’s “Hospital”

Jason Shinder (1955-2008)

Hospital

 

While the machine sucks the black suds

from my mother’s blood then sends it back

stinking clean into the pistol-tube nailed down

into her chest, I climb out of my shoes and slip

a cotton swab of water between her teeth,

her dentures sliding off the back porch

of her mouth.  Nobody knows, never knows,

how she has to pee, wrapped in a diaper.

But can’t.  The yellow eggs she ate one hour ago

already the shit in her bowels.  And lonely,

head-hanging-from-the-balcony-of-her-body lonely,

darkest-passage-from-the-hairless-vagina lonely.

But brave.  But lonely.  Because I did not stay all night.

Because I won’t.  Because I’m going to pull out

the one bone that hurts the most and break the back

of every word I ever said to her.  The world is evil, Mother,

and I am, too.

 

See Also:

3 thoughts on “Jason Shinder’s “Hospital”

  1. I do not usually answer posts but I am going to in this case, great information?- I will certainly bookmark your site. Keep up the good operate!’s a Very good, very useful to me, Thank you very much post.

  2. Pingback: Blackbird and Wolf | Henri Cole | Arcade Ride

Leave a Reply

