Black femininity

I love this post and I promise to do my opinions on the ‘strong black women’ stereotype which I’m against for a number of reasons.

Abagond

phoebeprunelleGuest post by commenter phoebeprunelle:

I am writing this post because an exchange over on the interracial relationship thread sparked a discussion on beauty. Anyone who knows me personally knows that a few years ago, I stopped buying Essence and Ebony magazine – basically any Black mainstream magazine. I also encouraged male family members to look beyond mainstream Black male magazines that featured Black women plastered half naked on the cover with what can usually be described as a scowl on their faces.

Here are the reasons I stopped buying mainstream Black magazines,  listed below in no particular order:

1. Perpetuating Black Female Inferiority: Both Ebony and Essence magazines have featured the most negative stories about Black women and Black people in the past five years. You would think we can’t or are incapable of doing anything right. It also doesn’t help that they rarely ever feature Black academics, writers…

View original post 336 more words

Leave a Reply

